Minutes of Meeting 89th Annual Tribal Assembly · Hybrid Central Council Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska Elizabeth Peratrovich Hall Juneau, Alaska

Theme: "Rooted in Tradition, Growing a Sustainable Future"

Awáahl Gagwíi gin kuyáa an tl'áng únsadgaangaan, Hawáan gin 'láa tl'áng sk'at'áas kilíiganggang

Haa <u>K</u>usteeyí tudéi haa ksixát, Haa Shuká aa yá<u>x</u> kei haa nawát

Day II: Thursday, April 18, 2024

CALL TO ORDER

3rd Vice President Catherine Edwards, called the meeting to order at 8 AM.

INVOCATION

Nathan Lopez, Petersburg Delegate, offered the invocation.

Jerry Bennett, Juneau Delegate, led the Delegates in prayer for Ella Bennett, Juneau Delegate, whose daughter Rose Westika passed away, a former Tlingit & Haida employee.

WORD OF THE DAY

Jacqueline Pata, Juneau Delegate, provided the Tlingit word of the day.

Gianna Willard Flanery, Ketchikan Delegate, provided the Haida word of the day.

ADOPT MINUTES OF APRIL 17, 2024

M/S Stephanie Masterman moved to adopt the meeting minutes of April 17, 2024. No objection, so ordered.

ELECTIONS

Janet Peele, Elections Committee Chair, assumed the Chair without objection.

Elections for the offices of Vice Presidents, Emerging Leader, and Delegate/Citizen of the Year took place with the results as follows:

Vice Presidents

Ballot 1

The Chair declared the election results from Ballot 1 show Jacqueline Pata elected as 1st Vice President and Clinton Cook elected as 2nd Vice President.

M/S Veronica Dalton moved to accept the Elections Report for Ballot 1. No objection, so ordered.

Ballot 2

The Chair declared the election results from Ballot 2 show Rob Sanderson Jr. elected as 3rd Vice President and Will Micklin elected as 4th Vice President.

M/S Joey Ketah moved to accept the Elections Report from Ballot 2. No objection, so ordered.

A 10-minute caucus was called for at 9:05 AM with no objection. The Chair called the meeting back to order at 9:21 AM.

Karen Elliott, Seattle Delegate, withdrew her name as a candidate for Vice President.

Ballot 3

The Chair declared the election results from Ballot 3. Delbert Kadake elected as 5th Vice President.

M/S Daphyne Albee moved to accept the election report from Ballot 3. No objection, so ordered.

A 15-minute caucus was called for at 9:33 AM with no objection. The Chair called the meeting back to order at 9:49 AM.

Ballot 4

The Chair declared the election results from Ballot 4 show no candidate was elected.

M/S Veronica Dalton moved to accept the election report from Ballot 4. No objection, so ordered.

A 15-minute caucus was requested, withno objection. The Chair called the meeting back to order at 10:13 AM.

Tasha Hotch, Anchorage Delegate, withdrew her name as a candidate for Vice President.

Ballot 5

The Chair declared the election results from Ballot 5,Paulette Moreno elected as 6th Vice President.

M/S Marvin Adams moved to accept the election report from Ballot 5. No objection, so ordered.

Emerging Leader

The Chair declared the election results, Randy Estrin elected the Emerging Leader.

M/S Keenan Sanderson moved to accept the Emerging Leader election report. No objection, so ordered.

OATH OF OFFICE

Trinidad Contreras, Tribal Court Magistrate, administered the Oath of Office to the elected Vice Presidents and Emerging Leader.

Delegate/Citizen of the Year

The Chair declared the election results, Jania Garcia elected as Delegate/Citizen of the Year.

M/S Jessica Elopre moved to accept the Delegate/Citizen of the Year election.

President Richard J. Peterson thanked Catherine Edwards for her service to the Tribe, followed by a response from Catherine Edwards.

Janet Peele, Elections Committee Chair, declared the elections of all offices complete.

A 10-minute break was requested at 11:01 AM with no objection.

Catherine Edwards, Seattle Delegate, resumed the session chair, and called the meeting back to order at 11:16 AM.

KEYNOTE SPEAKER

Dr. Randie Kamuela Fong, Executive Culture Officer, Kamehameha Schools, Hawaii, provided the Keynote Address.

President Richard J. Peterson extended words of appreciation to Dr. Fong for his presentation, followed by cultural responses from Robert Peele, Tribal Host, and Delegates in story and song.

LUNCH

The Chair declared a lunch recess at 12:14 PM with no objection.

CALL TO ORDER

4th Vice President Will Micklin assumed the session Chair and called the meeting to order at 1:16 PM without objection.

ENROLLMENT COMMITTEE REPORT

Louise Kadinger, Elections Committee member, provided the report on behalf of the Chair Ella Bennett.

M/S Jerry Hope/Mary Marks moved to accept the Enrollment Committee report. No objection.

AUDIT REPORT

Catherine Edwards, Audit Committee Chair, provided the Audit report.

M/S Jerry Hope/Ed Hotch moved to accept the Audit Committee report. No objection, so ordered.

NCAI UPDATE

Clinton Cook, NCAI Alaska Area Alternate Vice President, provided the National Congress of American Indians update.

USDA UNDER SECRETARY FOR NATURAL RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENT

Dr. Homer Wilkes, U.S. Under Secretary of Agriculture for Natural Resources and Environment, provided the report.

Delbert Kadake, Kake Delegate, requested and asked for suspension of the rules to allow Joel Jackson, President of the Organized Village of Kake to address the speaker. No objection, so ordered.

President Jackson addressed the delegation.

PACIFIC SALMON COMMISSION FIRST NATIONS CAUCUS

Russ Jones, Commissioner of the Pacific Salmon Commission First Nations Caucus, provided the report.

SOUTHEAST ALASKA LANDLESS CORPORATION

Cecilia Tavoliero, President of the Southeast Alaska Landless Corporation, provided the report.

RECESS

The Session Chair declared a recess at 5:09 p.m.

MEMORIAL SERVICE

3rd Vice President Rob Sanderson led the Memorial Service with the Delegates honoring loved ones from their community who passed away in the past year.