# Minutes of Meeting 87<sup>th</sup> Annual Tribal Assembly Central Council of Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska April 20-22, 2022 Elizabeth Peratrovich Hall (Virtual) Juneau, AK

Theme: We Go Forward Together A shukáade yaa ntoo.át, wooch.een • Gu dánhl gwíi t'aláng

Day II: Thursday, April 21, 2022

#### CALL TO ORDER

President Richard J. Peterson, called the second day of the 87<sup>th</sup> Annual Tribal Assembly of the Central Council Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska to order at 8:00 a.m.

Millie Schoonover, Tribal Hostess, addressed the delegates in appreciation of being named as the hostess this year.

#### WORD OF THE DAY

Robert Edwardson, Juneau Delegate, provided the Haida word of the day.

Shirley Kendall, Anchorage Delegate, provided the Tlingit word of the day.

### **ADOPT MINUTES OF APRIL 20, 2022**

Jacqueline Pata moved and asked unanimous consent to adopt the minutes of April 20, 2022, of the 87<sup>th</sup> Annual Tribal Assembly. No objection. Motion carried.

### ENROLLMENT COMMITTEE REPORT

Ella Bennett, Enrollment Committee Chair, provided the report.

### JUDICIARY COMMITTEE REPORT

DonnaRae James, Judiciary Committee Chair, provided the report.

#### VAW TASK FORCE

Catherine Edwards and Pat Alexander, VAWA Task Force Co- Chairs, provided the report. A brief question and answer period followed. Several Delegates joined the VAW Task Force.

#### TRIBAL COURT REPORT

Lisa Lang, Chief Justice, provided the Tribal Court report. A brief question and answer period followed.

### CLIMATE CHANGE COMMITTEE REPORT

Will Micklin, Climate Change Committee Chair, provided the report.

### BUREAU OF INDIAN AFFAIRS ALASKA REGION REPORT

Eugene Peltola, Regional Director of the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) Alaska Region, provided a report. The Administration took note of questions and comments to provide to the BIA.

### SEALASKA REPORT

Anthony Mallott, Chief Executive Officer, Sealaska, provided a report. A question and answer period followed.

#### TLINGIT HAIDA REGIONAL HOUSING AUTHORITY REPORT

Jacqueline Pata, President and Chief Executive Officer of Tlingit Haida Regional Housing Authority, provided a report.

### **BREAK**

The Chair called for a 10-minute break. Break taken from 10:28 am to 10:39 am.

### **SEARHC REPORT**

Charles Clement, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Southeast Regional Health Consortium (SEARHC), provided a report. The Administration took note of questions and comments to provide to SEARHC.

# YOUTH COMMISSION REPORT

Tiadola Silva, 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President, Youth Commission, provided the report.

#### SOUTHEAST ALASKA LANDLESS CORPORATION

Cecelia Tavoliero, President, Southeast Alaska Landless Corporation, provided a report, along with Randy Williams, Jaeleen Kookesh, and Nicole Hallingstad. Daphyne Albee, ANS Grand Camp President, also provided a brief statement. A question and answer period followed.

#### **BREAK**

The Chair called for a 10-minute break. The break was taken from 11:59 am to 12:10 pm.

#### **AUDIT REPORT**

Catherine Edwards, Audit Committee Chair, provided the report.

M/S Albert Howard/Daphyne Albee moved to accept the audit. Motion carried.

### INTRODUCTION OF BUDGETS

James Jack, Sr., Finance Committee Chair, provided the report.

FY 2021 Proposed Budget Amendments & FY 2022 Proposed Budget

M/S Paulette Moreno/Albert Howard moved to adopt the FY 2021 proposed budget amendments and the FY 2022 proposed budget. Delegates Marvin Adams and Doug Chilton voted nay. Motion carried.

#### KEYNOTE SPEAKER

President Richard J. Peterson introduced Kate Cherrington and Bentham Ohia, our Māori brother and sister from across the ocean. They provided the keynote address.

### **DECLARATIONS & NOMINATIONS**

Janet Peele, Elections Committee Chair, assumed the chair without objection. All declarations of intent were received from the candidates in a timely manner.

#### CANDIDATE SPEECHES

The delegates listened to speeches from the candidates for the Office of the President, Vice President, Associate Justice, Emerging Leader, and Delegate/Citizen of the Year.

<u>President</u>	Vice Presidents	Associate Justice
1. Tasha Hotch	1. William "Yaan Yaan Eesh" Micklin	1. Cheryl Demmert
2. Richard J. Peterson	2. Rob A. Sanderson, Jr	Fairbanks
Emarging Landon	3. Tasha Hotch	2. Debra (Dijik Sook)
Emerging Leader  1. Armando DeAsis	4. Clinton E. Cook	O'Gara
2. Marlis Boord	5. Karen Lauth Elliott	3. Mary Marks
3. Colin Adams	6. Jacqueline "Kus.een" Pata	4. Thomas Weathers
	7. Catherine Edwards	
4. Emily Allerton 5. Elizah Dominy	8. Joe Williams, Jr	Delegate/Citizen of the
6. Ashlynn Emanoff	9. Delbert Kadake	<u>Year</u>
o. Asinyini Ellianon	10. Karen A. Taug	1. David Light

# VIRTUAL MEMORIAL SERVICE

President J. Peterson assumed the session chair. A moment of silence was done in memory of Bertha Karras, past delegate.

Rob Sanderson, Jr., 3<sup>rd</sup> Vice President led the Memorial Service, which was held in memory of tribal citizens lost in the past and current year. He offered words of encouragement and a prayer for the families.

# **RECESS**

The meeting recessed for the day at 2:17 pm.